The pages of your website are well referenced, but you generate very little traffic? It’s because your CTR (Click Through Rate) is too low! Let’s see how to fix that! Have you worked for months to improve your SEO, and despite everything your Comoros Email List and has been applied correctly, then you should see good positioning of your pages on the queries you have targeted. However, even with a very good ranking in the search results, not all Internet users click on your link. Your traffic potential then depends on your click-through rate. Let’s take a closer look at what click-through rate is, why it’s crucial to improve it, and how to do it very simply!
You can find the click-through rate under the acronym TDC or more often in its English version CTR for Click Through Rate. The click-through rate when we talk about SEO is the ratio between You have a page that talks about the best folding electric bikes. It generated 40,000 impressions last month, all requests combined (“foldable electric bikes”, “folding bikes reviews”, “best electric bikes”…). In the same time frame, this page was clicked 800 times in total on these requests. Then your click-through rate is: (800 / 40,000) x 100 = 2%. You can also calculate a click-through rate per request to refine your performance indicators. If we take the same example: Last month on the query “folding bikes reviews” your page generated 2,500 impressions for 80 clicks.
Definition and calculation of click-through rate
Then your CTR on this query is (80 / 2,500) x 100 = 3.2%. The Click-through rate is used in many other cases and is calculated the same way. You will need to replace the number of impressions in the search results with the variable that interests you. For example, we can calculate the CTR of a Google Ads campaign by calculating the number of displays of the ad compared to the number of clicks generated. On your website, the click-through rate of your call-to-action will be the ratio between the number of page views and the number of clicks on the CTA. The first Google result has an average click-through rate of 31.7%. The average click-through rate is based on positions in Google.
The first result, therefore, generates more than 10 times more clicks than the 10th result! Top 3 Google Results Get 75.1% of Clicks. 75% of clicks are obtained by the first 3 results on Google. By not being in the top 3, you are therefore missing 3/4 of clicks! If we analyze this figure, we can say that trying to position yourself on the first page of Google is not such a good objective in SEO! Rather, it will be necessary to aim for the top 3 to obtain important results. Gaining a place on Google brings on average 30.8% more clicks. Change in click-through rate according to the evolution of positions in Google results. Win a place through SEO when you are between the 7th and 4 the places you will explode your CTR.
Some key figures on CTR
This is why we should never stop implementing actions to improve our ranking, even once present on the first page. If gaining places will boost your traffic, conversely, losing places to your competitors will cause you to lose a lot of visitors! The gains at the bottom of the page are relatively low, however, once past 8th position, each progression becomes very interesting! If this was still not the case, these figures should finally convince you to optimize your SEO to take first place on Google results! These figures are still averages. Sometimes, even with great positioning, your CTR will be lower than you expect. So let’s see how to solve this problem to make the most of your ranking on Google by improving your click-through rate!
As I said, good positioning does not always ensure an optimal click-through rate. Why? Because your link is not highlighted enough in the search results. It does not encourage Internet users to click. We will not be talking about structured data here, which makes it possible to obtain enriched results which offer better visibility to the results (stars, ratings of reviews, prices, etc.). This part will be dealt with in a separate article, as they require more technical mastery. We will focus here on the two major elements that impact your click-through rate: the title tag and the meta description. And what’s more, it’s very easy to optimize! The title tag and the meta description are with the URL of the page, the 3 elements that make up a standard search result (excluding structured data or enriched results).